Two UCSF OHNS Members Receive UCSF Health Exceptional Physician Award

Congratulations to Patrick Ha, MD, and Elizabeth Shuman, MD, two members of the Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF OHNS) who have been named recipients of the 2021-22 UCSF Health Exceptional Physician Award! Dr. Ha is a professor and the chief of Head and Neck Oncologic Surgery, and Dr. Shuman is a resident physician.

"We are so proud of Dr. Ha and Dr. Shuman, who are both incredibly deserving of this recognition," says UCSF OHNS Department Chair Andrew Murr, MD. "It is wonderful to see them honored for their important contributions to our department and to UCSF as a whole."

Physicians are selected for the award based on their demonstration of UCSF Health's core values of PRIDE — Professionalism, Respect, Integrity, Diversity and Excellence. Out of more than 100 nominee submissions, 18 award recipients were selected.

"It is very humbling, considering the amazing colleagues all around me," said Dr. Ha. "It's wonderful to be recognized, but mostly it speaks to the efforts of the whole team."

"I am honored and humbled to receive this award, especially when I am surrounded by such incredible colleagues each day at work," said Dr. Shuman. "I am grateful for the support of the OHNS faculty and my co-residents, who lead by example every day in taking incredible care of our patients. I also would like to thank our multidisciplinary team of APPs, nurses, SLPs, audiologists, and clinic staff, who are all integral in making patient care excellent at UCSF. I am also grateful for my family, who has supported me all along my training journey."

The awardees' "hard work, dedication and contribution is a testament to the exemplary relationships they have with faculty, staff and patients, and their steadfast commitment to providing outstanding care for our patients," said Josh Adler, MD, chief clinical officer of UCSF Health.

The awards were presented to the award recipients at a virtual presentation on National Doctors Day, March 30, 2022. You can see their remarks below.

Join us in congratulating these two esteemed members of our department! 


News Category