Congratulations to the 2023 UCSF OHNS Graduates and Award Winners!

June 21, 2023

The Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF OHNS) would like to take this opportunity to congratulate the graduates from our residency and fellowship programs. Commencement 2023 was held on June 17, 2023.

Graduating chief residents with the program director and assistant program director.

Our three graduating Chief Residents, Kara Brodie, MD, MPhilAbel David, MD, and Gaelen Stanford-Moore, MD, MPhil, are heading on to prestigious fellowships in OHNS.

Dr. Brodie will be heading to Seattle Children's for a comprehensive pediatric otolaryngology fellowship. Dr. David is joining a highly sought-after two-year fellowship in Otology, Neurotology and Lateral Skull Base Surgery at Harvard/Massachusetts Eye & Ear Infirmary (MEEI) in Boston. Dr. Stanford-Moore matched at the Oregon Health & Science University in Portland, for the Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (FPRS) fellowship.

Our graduating fellows are Aviva Fliker, MBBSSuresh Mohan, MD, and Jesse Qualliotine, MD.

We would also like to recognize the following individuals who received awards.

Assistant Professor Jordan Virbalas, MD, was awarded the Roger Boles, MD, Award for Excellence in Teaching. Professor Daniel Knott, MD, received the Francis. A. Sooy, MD, Award for Clinical Excellence.

Three trainees received resident research awards.

First place: Neil Patel, MD, who presented "Cellular Mechanisms of Skin Color Match in Head and Neck Reconstruction."

Second place: Karolina Plonowska-Hirschfeld, MD, who presented "Microenergy Acoustic Pulses in Head and Neck Skeletal Muscle Regeneration."

Third place: Abel David, MD, who presented "Characterizing the cellular changes of cochlear synaptopathy using scRNAseq."

Finally, we are excited to acknowledge the rising fifth-year residents who will represent UCSF OHNS as Chiefs throughout the next year: Tania Benjamin, MDJacqueline Harris, MDNeil Patel, MDKarolina Plonowska-Hirschfeld, MD, and Sifon Ndon, MD.

Congratulations to all 2023 award winners and graduates!