Congratulations to the 2022 UCSF OHNS Graduates and Award Winners!

June 28, 2022

Commencement 2022 was held on June 18, 2022. The Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF OHNS) would like to take this opportunity to congratulate the graduates from our residency program.

All four of our graduating Chief Residents are heading on to prestigious fellowships in OHNS.

Yi Cai, MD, is pursuing a sleep medicine fellowship at the University of Pennsylvania, Perelman School of Medicine. Nicole Jiam, MD, will start a neurotology fellowship at the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary/Harvard Medical School. Elizabeth Shuman, MD, is going to begin a laryngology fellowship at the University of Southern California. Katherine Wai, MD, is entering a head and neck surgical oncology fellowship at the Stanford School of Medicine.

We would also like to recognize the following individuals who received awards.

Assistant Professor Taha Jan, MD, was awarded the Roger Boles, MD, Award for Excellence in Teaching. Professor Patrick Ha, MD, received the Francis. A. Sooy, MD, Award for Clinical Excellence.

Resident Neil Patel, MD, was awarded Best Overall Presentation, Resident Abel David, MD, received the award for Best Basic Science Presentation and Resident Kara Brodie, MD, MPhil, won the award for Best Clinical Presentation.

Finally, we are excited to acknowledge the rising fifth year residents who will represent UCSF OHNS as Chiefs throughout the next year: Kara Brodie, MD, MPhil, Abel David, MD, and Gaelen Stanford-Moore, MD, MPhil.

Congratulations to all 2022 award winners and graduates!