OHNS Chief Residents Earn UCSF Health Exceptional Physician Award

March 22, 2024

Neil Patel, MD, MSc, and Karolina Plonowska-Hirschfeld, MD, are recipients of the UCSF Health Exceptional Physician Awards (EPA) for the 2023-2024 academic year. EPA is awarded to UCSF Health physicians who have provided outstanding patient care, contributed to UCSF Health's mission, and exemplified UCSF Health's PRIDE Values of professionalism, respect, integrity, diversity, and excellence.

Neil Patel, MD, MSc, and Karolina Plonowska-Hirschfeld, MD

"I am not surprised Dr. Plonowska-Hirschfeld and Dr. Patel were recognized with Exceptional Physician Awards. They exemplify professionalism and dedication. Way to go!" shares Andrew Murr, MD

Drs. Patel and Plonowska-Hirschfeld are chief residents in the Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF OHNS).

Dr. Patel takes an innovative approach to facial reconstructive surgery for head and neck cancer patients. He strives for excellence in his research collaborations related to sinusitis. Dr. Patel is a mentor for medical students and junior residents. He prepares them for operating room cases and teaches them how to provide and maintain exceptional patient care.

Dr. Plonowska-Hirschfeld continually reinforces a culture of mutual respect and dignity for her team in the clinical wards and operating rooms. She cares for her students and junior residents, ensuring they're all heard, valued, and advocated for.

Each year, the number of nominations for this honor far exceeds the number of awardees. The awardees were selected by a committee of UCSF Health leaders and are being recognized for their extraordinary contributions to patient care, teamwork, and professionalism.

"One of our Chief Residents from long ago also achieved recognition this year. Jacob Johnson, MD, is the senior physician of San Francisco Otolaryngology and was recognized with an Exceptional Physician Award for 2024. Congratulations!" adds Dr. Murr.

Congratulations, Drs. Patel and Plonowska-Hirschfeld!